Recipe: Creamy Chicken & Broccoli over Rice

Image Source @lindsayballen

Image Source @lindsayballen

Who doesn’t love this simple, yet delicious combination? A surprisingly easy preparation, I was ecstatic at the result after my first try. After browsing the internet scouting for an easy yet scrumptious version of this preparation, I chanced upon the blog Normal Cooking for Normal People. Lindsay’s version of Creamy Chicken and Broccoli had me hooked. It was everything I had hoped for, and more.

As simple as the recipe was, I did not have all the ingredients at my disposal. So, I searched some more for their substitutes, adamant to serve this dish for dinner, and was proud of the end result. Along the way I also made some modifications to suit my Indian palette, adding just a wee bit more flavour and spice. So here’s a combination of our recipe for Creamy Chicken and Broccoli over Rice. This dish serves 4.

Ingredients:

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

10 oz can fat free cream of chicken soup (Alternatively, make it at home)

¼ c fat free sour cream (Or, create your own by adding 1 tbsp of flour to 1 cup yogurt plus 2 tsp of water. For the recipe use 4 tbsp of this preparation.)

½ of a 14 oz bag frozen broccoli florets, thawed

½ c shredded reduced fat taco blend cheese

1 medium onion, cut into rings

¼ tsp red chilli powder (omit if you are not into spicy food)

2 cups white rice, cooked

Directions:

Cut chicken into tenders. Place broccoli & chicken in a sprayed skillet on medium high.

Combine Chicken soup and sour cream. Add soup mixture, onion rings and chilli powder to skillet and bring to a boil.

Cover, reduce heat to medium, and simmer 12 min or until chicken is done.

Remove from heat and sprinkle with cheese. Cover until cheese melts.

Serve over rice.

Do give it a try, and tell me how it turned out. And, if you have your own magic formula of making this dish come alive, I would love for you to share it with me.

A social media enthusiast living in New York. I love eating - Banana Pudding & Chocolate on Chocolate Cupcake at Magnolia Bakery, Chicken Rice at the Halal Guys near Hilton. I relish homemade spicy food and enjoy cooking. But sometimes my cooking experiments go very wrong. The ones that end well can be seen on my blog - WGD&M!!!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Continental Recipe, Recipe
4 comments on “Recipe: Creamy Chicken & Broccoli over Rice
  1. Looks delicious! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Weekly Grocery Deals & More on WordPress.com

Subscribe via Email

Recent Tweets
Archives
